Round North

Thrissur, Kerala

0487 - 2335576

0487 - 2330224

Mail us

about us

About Thrissur Press Club

There was a time when press conferences in Thrissur were conducted in hotels and lodges as there was no own building for the Press Club. There was no place for the journalists to get together or hold meetings. Thus came the idea of having an own place for the Press Club.

Thrissur Press Club was one of the first district headquarters of the Kerala Union of Working Journalists.

M.R. Nair, K. Krishnan Kutty Nair and M.D. Mani, eminent journalists in Thrissur, initiated effort for setting up a Press Club building in early 70s. It was a herculean task for the KUWJ district committee with just nine members.

The state government with C. Achutha Menon as Chief Minster and K. Karunakaran as Home Minister gave all support for the initiative. Municipal Council with Caption A.N. Menon and later V. Sankara Menon as Chairmen too stood with the venture.

Thus Municipality allotted three cents of land in the heart of the city facing the Thekkinkadu maidan for the Press Club with state government's permission.

The state government and the municipality allotted Rs. 25,000 and Rs. 20,000 respectively for the construction. The government also allowed to collect fund from various municipalities and panchayats for the work. All local bodies in the district cordially supported the initiative.

A committee with M.R. Nair as President and N.M. Gopalakrishnan as secretary led the construction. Home Minster K. Karunakaran laid foundation stone for the building on March 3, 1973.. Construction was completed in two years. Chief Minister C. Achutha Menon inaugurated the Press Club building on December 27, 1975. Union state President G. Venugopal presided over the function held at Naikanal.